Listeners Club

Forgot Password

Not a Member? Sign up here!

banner

Local News

Minimum Wage Increasing June 1st

Connecticut’s minimum wage goes from $14 per hour to $15 per hour on Thursday, June 1st. The increase is the result of a bill that State Senator Julie Kushner of Danbury voted for on May 16, 2019, which called for the increase in the state’s minimum wage from $10.10 an hour to $15 an hour in one-dollar increments over the past five years. Beginning on January 1, 2024, Connecticut’s minimum wage will be indexed to the employment cost index, which is calculated by the U.S. Department of Labor. Prior to the 2019 law, Connecticut has had 37 minimum wage increases over 65 years, beginning at 75 cents an hour in 1951 and reaching $10 an hour in 2017.