Listeners Club

Forgot Password

Not a Member? Sign up here!


Local Headlines

Danbury GOP Mayor gets 9th term, Dems pick up one City Council seat

Election Day results are in.  Danbury Republican incumbent Mayor Mark Boughton has won an unprecedented ninth term. 


Danbury Republicans kept control of the 21-seat City Council, winning the 14 of the 15 seats held by incumbents.  Democrats held onto their six seats on the City Council and added one at-large member.  Former Board of Education member Robert Taborsak was the highest vote getter of the remaining candidates to fill the 7 positions. 


There was a legal question raised yesterday for the at-large Council seats.  Longtime Republican Councilman Gregg Seabury died on Saturday and his name remained on the ballot.  Danbury Democratic Town Committee chairman Gene Eriquez believed the vacancy was in the nomination, not in the position.  Had Seabury garnered more votes than any Democrat, Eriquez said legal action could follow.


Incumbent Treasurer Dan Jowdy and incumbent Town Clerk Jan Giegler each won reelection.


Constable positions went to Michael Halas, Michael Safranek and Louise McMahon.


The Board of Education positions will be filled by Richard Janelli, Jeanne Grandieri, Farley Santos, Amy Spallino, Rachel Chaleski and Kathleen Molinaro.


The Zoning Commission positions went to Richard Jowdy, Andrea Gartner, Ted Haddad Jr., James Kelly, Milan David, Angela Hylenski, Luis Bautista, Rob Melillo and Sally Estefan.  Zoning Alternates will be Zachary Eriquez, Thomas Nejames and Michael Masi.

On Air Now

Dave Rinelli

Local Headlines