Listeners Club

Forgot Password

Not a Member? Sign up here!


Local Headlines

Schools of Distinction recognized by state Education Department

Several Greater Danbury area schools have been recognized by the state as Schools of Distinction.  The state Department of Education has held its second annual Schools of Distinction Recognition Breakfast.  73 schools were honored yesterday. 


The recognition is part of the state's school rating and accountability system, which the U-S Department of Education approved in 2012 as part of the Connecticut request for flexibility in meeting certain portions of the federal No Child Left Behind act. 


Among the highest overall performance schools are: Anna H Rockwell elementary school in Bethel, John Read Middle School in Redding, Monroe Elementary School and Masuk High School.  The Burnham School in Bridgewater, East Ridge Middle School in Ridgefield, Weston High School, Cider Mill and Middlebrook Schools in Wilton also made the list. 


During the breakfast Commission Stefan Pryor also announced a new competitive grant opportunity for those schools to share information on what works best for turning around school performance.



The highest performing schools in the subcategory of students with disabilities including Wilton High School.  In the subcategory of students learning English as a second language, Pomperaug Regional High School in Southbury was honored.  In the subgroup of Free/ Reduced-Price Lunch, Masuk High School in Monroe was among those recognized.

On Air Now

Local Headlines