Listeners Club

Forgot Password

Not a Member? Sign up here!


Local Headlines

Lawmakers graded in 2016 Environmental Scorecard

The Connecticut League of Conservation Voters is out with its 2016 Environmental Scorecard.  The scorecard shows how lawmakers voted on environmental bills in this year's legislative session.  Executive Director Lori Brown says the scorecard highlights lawmakers who voted for good environmental bills, while also seeking to expose those who worked to kill bills designed to help the environment.


While some progress was made on behalf of the environment, Brown says advocates will be working next session to pass legislation which fell short this year.


Among the Environmental Champions are Wilton Representative Gail Lavielle, as a leader on the public water supply; Senator Tony Hwang for being a leader on protection of waterways; and Kent Representative Roberta Willis for working toward a Constitutional amendment for open space, and on the Housatonic River Wild & Scenic designation.


In every session there is back room deal-making which the organization can't score.  But they did put a few lawmakers on their so-called Dirty Deeds list for working against what the organization saw as good environmental legislation.  The  Connecticut League of Conservation Voters says Southbury Senator Rob Kane blocked a bipartisan flame retardant bill that would have protected the health and safety of children and firefighters.  The  Connecticut League of Conservation Voters says Litchfield Representative Craig Miner, who is running for the Senate District which includes New Milford, blocked a good government transparency bill, spoke against a constitutional amendment bill for open space, and tried to kill a bill to  protect pollinators.


Lawmakers were scored on 13 bill votes. 


Wilton Senator Toni Boucher and Hwang each scored 100 this session.  Danbury Senator Mike McLachlan scored 80-percent while retiring state Senator Clark Chapin of New Milford scored 70-percent.


Danbury Representative David Arconti scored a 90


Newtown Representative Mitch Bolinsky scored a 67


Retiring New Milford Representative Cecelia Buck-Taylor scored a 43


Bethel Representative Dan Carter scored a 75


Ridgefield Representative John Frey scored a 86


Danbury Representative Bob Godfrey scored a 70


Danbury Representative Jan Giegler scored a 63


Brookfield Representative Steve Harding scored a 70


Southbury Senator Rob Kane scored a 78


Litchfield Representative Craig Miner scored a 58


Redding Representative John Shaban scored a 70


New Fairfield Representative Richard Smith scored a 50


Monroe Representative JP Sredzinski scored a 44

On Air Now

America in the Morning

Local Headlines