Local Headlines

Greater Danbury area municipalities have submitted forms to the Secretary of the state's office with election totals for all positions on the ballots.


Danbury Mayor Mark Boughton, Town Clerk Lori Kaback and Treasurer Dan Jowdy all won reelection.  Incumbents on the City Council who ran for reelection also were voted back into office.  The new Board of Education includes Republicans: Eileen Alberts, Michael Ferguson and Ralph Pietrafesa; and Democrats: Kathleen Molinaro and Richard Jannelli.  The other positions on the Board have terms that expire in 2015.


Bethel First Selectman Matt Knickerbocker and Town Clerk Lisa Bergh were reelected.  The town's treasurer will be Daniel O’Grady.  Board of Finance members Tim Draper, William Kingston, and Gary Regan were reelected along with Bruce Cornwell.  Board of Education members Melanie O’Brien and Stuart Carlsen were reelected along with Jennifer Ackerman and Nicholas Hoffman.


In Brookfield, First Selectman-elect Bill Tinsley will be joined on the Board of Selectman by fellow Republican Marty Flynn and current First Selectman Bill Davidson.  Republicans won every Board and Commission seat up for election.


New Fairfield First Selectman Susan Chapman has won a term of her own.  She moved up to the role earlier this year when John Hodge took a step back to dedicate more time to his non-profit work with the Tunnel To Towers Foundation.  Joining Chapman on the Board of Selectman are Democrat Mike Gill and Republican Kim Hanson.  Hodge has been elected to the Board of Finance.  Town Clerk Pamela Dohan, Treasurer Philip Cammarano and Tax Collector Kerri Hess Greening were nominated by both parties.


New Milford Mayor Patricia Murphy was unopposed this year and lead the Republican ticket to win majorities on many town boards and commissions.  Both the Town Council and the Board of Education will have a 6-3 Republican majority.  The Registrar of Voters reported a 23.7% voter turn out.


About 25.5% of Newtown cast ballots on Tuesday.  Incumbent First Selectman Pat Llodra ran unopposed.  Selectman Will Rodgers was reelected.  Republicans took four seats out of five open seats on the Board of Education.  They are Kathy Hamilton, Keith Alexander, Debbie Leidlein and David Freedman, who is filling a vacancy on the Board.  They are joined by Democrat Michelle Ku.  Districts 1, 2 and 3 of the Legislative Council each seated four members.  In District 1 the incumbents were all reelected.  In District 2 incumbents Ryan Knapp, Daniel Honan and Mary Ann Jacob were reelected along with Democrat Lisa Romano.  In District 3 incumbents Daniel Amaral, Neil Chaudhary and Phil Carroll were reelected along with Anthony Filiano.


Redding's First Selectman race was separated by less than 100 votes. Having served since 1999, Natalie Ketcham decided to retire when her term ends.  That prompted a 38.5% voter turnout.  Democrat Julia Pemberton has been elected to lead the town.  Rounding out the Board of Selectman are Democrat Leon Karvelis and Republican Michael Thompson.  Longtime Treasurer Peg O'Donnell, Tax Collector Patricia Moisio and Town Clerk Michele Grande were all reelected.  Moisio and Grande were cross-endorsed by both the Democratic and Republican parties.


Ridgefield had a 24% voter turn out despite the top of the ticket not being up for election this year.


Returns from Bridgewater, Monroe, Sherman, Weston and Wilton were also posted by the Secretary of the State's office.



On Air Now
Rush Limbaugh
Local Headlines